Mountains and Rivers of the Motherland – Yellow River

The Yellow River, the "mother river" of the Chinese nation, flows from the Yueguzonglie Basin in the north foot of Bayan Har Mountains in Qinghai Province in the west to the estuary in Binzhou in Shandong Province. With the river length of 5,464 kilometres and the river basin of more than 752,000 square kilometres, the Yellow River flows through nine provinces and autonomous regions. Like a cradle, the Yellow River has nurtured, nourished and proliferated generations and generations of people in China, countless heroes and saints in history and the splendid Chinese culture which contributes significantly to world civilizations.

Yuan Jia, is a famous contemporary Chinese artist, designed the popular stamps entitled "Yangtze River" and "Yellow River" by the China Post. Upon the invitation of the Macao Post, Yuan Jia compressed the "Ten Thousand Miles along the Yellow River" into a set of nine stamps called "Mountains and Rivers of the Motherland – Yellow River", as well as a prestige stamp booklet in setenant format to showcase the panorama of the entire Yellow River. This is the longest set of stamps ever issued in Macao.

The first stamp: "Origin of the Grand River" – Kunlun Mountains, Bayan Har Mountains, Qinghai Lake, Ngoreng Lake, Gyaring Lake, Lijiaxia Hydroelectric Power Station, Longyangxia Hydroelectric Power Station, Xining City – Capital of Qinghai Province and Ta'er Monastery of Tibetan Buddhism.

The second stamp: "Winding River" – Winding Yellow River, Lanzhou City – Capital of Gansu Province, Yellow River Iron Bridge, Grottoes of Bingling Temple and Yellow River Stone Forest.

The third stamp: "Ningxia Alluvial Plains" – Yin Mountains, Helan Mountains, First Bay of the Winding Yellow River, Western Xia Tombs, Shapotou District, Yinchuan City – Capital of Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region, Ancient Great Wall, Tongxin Great Mosque and Hui Culture Park.

The fourth stamp: "Vast Territory of Hetao" – Open-pit Coal Mine, Wanjiazhai Hydroelectric Power Station, Laoniu Bay of the Yellow River and Mausoleum of Genghis Khan.

The fifth stamp: "Hukou Golden Waterfall" – Yuanjia Valley in Qingjian County in Shaanxi Province, Yan'an City, Baota Hill, Mausoleum of the Yellow Emperor (Huangdi), Zhenbeitai Tower, Loess Plateau (Huangtu), House Cave (Yaodong), Zaoyuan Revolutionary Site of Yan'an, Xi'an City and Hukou Waterfall (Shaanxi section).

The sixth stamp: "Surrounded by Water Province – Shanxi" – Hukou Waterfall (Shanxi section), Qikou Ancient Town, Qiankun Bay of the Yellow River, Guanque (Stork) Pavilion and Wutai Mountain.

The seventh stamp: "Mountainous Region of Luoyang" – Fengling Ferry, Mount Hua, Sanmenxia Hydroelectric Power Station, Luoyang City, Longmen Grottoes, Luo River, Xiaolangdi Hydroelectric Power Station and White Horse Temple (Baima).

The eighth stamp: "Picturesque Landscapes in Henan" – Zhengzhou City – Capital of Henan Province, Pagoda Forest of Shaolin Temple, Ancient Observatory, Kaifeng City, Lingyan Temple, Sifang Tower and Emperor Zhao Ancient City in Hebei.

The ninth stamp: "Clear River and Calm Sea" – Jinan City – Capital of Shandong Province, Mount Tai, Shengli Oil Field, Confucius Temple, Cemetery of Confucius and the East China Sea.

Author: Liu Jianhui Translation: NextVector Consultants Ltd.